Collect News Data

A look back at some London Marathon highlights on its 39th anniversary

:Headline: A look back at some London Marathon highlights on its 39th anniversary:
Showpiece event nears 40-year milestone.

Paula Radcliffe made the London Marathon her own with three wins in four years, culminating in her infamous 'pit-stop' en route to clinching her final victory in 2005.

On the 39th anniversary of the first London Marathon in 1981, the PA news agency looks back on some of other defining moments in the history of the famous race.

Double trouble

Dick Beardsley and Inge Simonsen shared the first London Marathon title (PA Archive)

American Dick Beardsley and Norway's Inge Simonsen were fighting it out to become the first winner of the race when Beardsley suggested they share the title as the race neared its conclusion. The pair crossed the finish line together in a scene often cited as an embodiment of London's unique spirit.


David Weir won eight London Marathon titles (Eddie Keogh/PA Archive)

David Weir has won his home city marathon eight times, starting with a thrilling wheelchair duel in 2002 when he seized on a mistake by wheelchair leader Frenchman Pierre Fairbank and surged up The Mall to capture his first title. It was the first significant act of a career which would culminate in six world and six Paralympic titles.

Hail Mary

Mary Keitany made quite an impression in 2017 (Yui Mok/PA)

Radcliffe was present in London to witness Kenyan Mary Keitany finally eclipse her 12-year-old world record. Keitany stormed home in two hours, 17 minutes and one second – beating Radcliffe's mark by 41 seconds. Her victory also marked Keitany's third win in London, matching another of Radcliffe's marks.

King Kipchoge

Eliud Kipchoge smashed the course record in 2019 (Paul Harding/PA)

Eliud Kipchoge, now famous for becoming the first man to break two hours for the marathon albeit in controversial shoes, has won the London Marathon a record four times. The Kenyan's streak of four wins over the last five years culminated in his course record two hours, two minutes and 37 seconds triumph over the course in 2019.

Michael Watson

Michael Watson completed the London Marathon in 2003 (Johnny Green/PA)

The Marathon's tradition for feats of super-human endurance were encapsulated in 2003 when Michael Watson crossed the finish line six days after he started the race. The boxer was critically injured in a world title fight with Chris Eubank in 1991 and had been told he would never walk again. Eubank was present to accompany Watson over the line.

body check tags ::

amp_article_394685 : Collect and Make Data not in DataBase  : 
last updated article - 2020-03-29 06:54:13:
html db last update - 2020-05-25 08:28:58 :

ex - 7200 : read : write cache and make html
Share this article now:
Show comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Transfer Talk Daily
Match previews - twice weekly
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!
Read more about Paula Radcliffe Athletics
Recommended Next on SM
Olympics postponed: More Russian athletes could take part in Games due to delay
Manchester United 'leading the race for Kai Havertz'
Chelsea open to agreeing Coutinho loan terms?
Impossible Games: Karsten Warholm eyeing 300m hurdles world record
Premier League Table
2Manchester CityMan City28183768313757
3Leicester CityLeicester29165858283053
5Manchester UnitedMan Utd29129844301445
6Wolverhampton WanderersWolves29101364134743
7Sheffield UnitedSheff Utd28111073025543
8Tottenham HotspurSpurs29118104740741
11Crystal Palace29109102632-639
13Newcastle UnitedNewcastle2998122541-1635
15Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton29611123240-829
16West Ham UnitedWest Ham2976163550-1527
19Aston Villa2874173456-2225
20Norwich CityNorwich2956182552-2721
Scroll for more - Tap for full version

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Transfer Talk Daily
Match previews - twice weekly
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

La Liga Table
2Real Madrid27168349193056
4Real Sociedad27144945331246
6Atletico MadridAtletico271112431211045
10Athletic Bilbao2791082923637
12Real Betis2789103843-533
15Real Valladolid27611102333-1029
17Celta Vigo27511112234-1226
Scroll for more - Tap for full version
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

We value your privacy

A part of our GDPR compliance we need to ask for your consent. We and our partners use technology such as cookies on Sports Mole to personalise content and ads, provide social media features, and analyse our traffic. Click below to consent to the use of this technology on Sports Mole.